Tuesday, November 3, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown


BLURB:

A thrilling and suspenseful World War I–era spy novel about a bright British girl who is sent into the heart of enemy territory to rescue Britain’s most valuable (and secret) spy—perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and What I Saw and How I Lied.

Samantha Donaldson’s family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a Girl Guide and messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, high-level mathematics, and complex puzzles and codes, hoping to make him proud. 

When Sam is asked to join the famed women’s spy group La Dame Blanche, she’s torn—this could be the adventure she’s dreamed of, but how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband to the war? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes there’s no way she can refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity. 

Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known to the members of LDB only as Velvet. Deep undercover within the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Samantha must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse, she finds herself forming a forbidden attraction to the enemy—a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Samantha discover the truth and find Velvet before it’s too late…for them both? 

From author Teri Brown comes the thrilling story of one girl’s journey into a deadly world of spycraft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 12 years, 11 months

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

I loved this book!

My favorite character is Samantha because she is brave and intelligent. She uses her head and works things out. 

My favorite part is when Samantha figures out what is really happening. She makes me feel like I just solved it myself! 

I recommend this book for anyone who likes spies, adventure and inspiration. I really enjoyed this book and I hope you do too. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 11 and up. 

This book was published on October 20, 2015.