Sunday, September 13, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu


BLURB:

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu’s gorgeous middle grade debut is a sister story with a swirl of darkness, a twist of magic, and a whole lot of hope.

Silly is the baby of the family, and she’s used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters, Eleanor, Astrid, and Marla, think she’s too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother’s unpredictable moods and slurred outbursts. But for Silly, that’s normal. She hardly remembers a time when Mom wasn’t drinking.

This summer, Silly is more alone than ever, and it feels like everyone around her is keeping secrets. Mom is sick all the time, and Dad is doing his best to make life seem normal when it’s anything but. To start with, they’ve moved from Massachusetts to a big, old summer house in New Hampshire. And Silly’s sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms to be together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter, and giggling about inside jokes that Silly doesn’t understand.

When Silly is brought into her sisters’ world, the truth is more exciting and magical than she could have imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical closet that gives them what they need—an escape from the darkness of their home life. But there are dark truths hiding there, too. Will the magic of the closets be able to heal Silly’s family, or will it ultimately tear them apart?

REVIEW BY: Michaela, age 11 years, 3 months

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

This book is a great book for sisters to read. I really enjoyed this book. 

Silly is my favorite character and my favorite part is when they try to free Maria. This book is excellent for many ages. 

When I was reading it, I wanted to go in the closets because of the magic in the story, you will see what I mean when you read it. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 10-14. 

This book's publishing date is September 29, 2015.