Thursday, December 3, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: Finding Paris by Joy Preble


BLURB:

A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.

Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

Joy Preble’s stirring and evocative new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 12 years, 13 days until 13!

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

This book was very touching! 

My favorite character is Leo because she is strong. She sacrifices herself for her sister which shows the lengths that she will go to for her true family. 

My favorite part is when they live on their own away from people who hurt them because in a way they are finally safe. 

I recommend this book for anyone who likes heartbreak, strength and mystery adventures. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 14 and up. 

**Please note that Arianna interview Ms. Preble in person at the Texas Book Festival and we hope to have the interview up soon.