Monday, May 23, 2016

BOOK BLITZ, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY: Sleeping Tom (Sleeping Tom #1) by E.V. Fairfall



Sleeping Tom
E.V. Fairfall
(Sleeping Tom #1)
Publication date: February 14th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Hitchhiking is a bad idea but Caden is desperate. 
When she accepts a ride from the first car to come by she meets Gabriel. He’s her age, hot, and the closest thing she has to a savior. Problem is, he is a total jerk. With nowhere to go, Caden convinces Gabriel to let her stay with him for one night. He reluctantly lends a couch. 
That night Caden wakes up to strange noises. Concerned, she rushes into Gabriel’s room, already anticipating his bad temper. Instead, he’s kind, sweet, and suspiciously harmless—nothing like the man who gave her a ride. He seems like a different person altogether, and claims he is. By night he is Tom, and by day he is Gabriel. Caden finds herself drawn to the mysteries hidden in his eyes. 
For Gabriel, Caden is an annoying mistake. One night turns into many, and despite all his anger towards her, she stays. She even seems to accept him and his flaws, but he still doesn’t trust her—is she staying for him, or has she already discovered more than he’s willing to share?
Grab yours today for only 99cents (for a limited time only)!
Stay tuned for Waking Gabriel‘s release in July!
EXCERPT:

“Don’t go.”

He was creeping her out. She wanted to run and hide from him, but instead she held her ground and, as casually as she could, leaned into the doorframe. “It’s like three in the morning,” she reminded him, attempting a frown to hide her anxiety.

“Do you want to play a game?”

“What?” Caden asked, his voice once again making her unsure. A game? It sounded like something Sean would say. Caden shifted her weight, eyeing him warily. I can handle this. She let out a deep breath; if nothing else she could use this as an opportunity. Cleaning at three in the morning obviously hadn’t scored her enough Good Samaritan points.


“Sure… We can play a game.” She wondered if her hesitation would make him angry, like she had when they had been in the car that afternoon.

She looked around for a weapon, anything she could use to protect herself. As her eyes scanned the room each surface was bare, aside from the bulky old alarm clock on the nightstand.


“First, you have to turn off the lights.”

Caden’s hand shook. This didn’t feel right. “Okay,” She mumbled, attempting to seem unfazed, and she turned off the lights with a flick of her wrist. It took a few seconds for her eyes to readjust, and when they did she saw the boy leap back onto the bed, light and agile. She took an uneasy step back. Her chest constricted and her breath caught in her throat. Caden couldn’t deny being unsure of the situation, of this boy who somehow had to be the man she’d met earlier that day.

His head moved from side to side, watching her as intently as she watched him. “What do you want to play?” he asked.

Even then, with him in better visibility, Caden couldn’t tell if the boy was really Gabriel. It was the same voice she had heard earlier, but without the rough edge of his irritation it sounded much younger and innocent, like that of a child. “I don’t know…”

“Oh, come on, think of something,” he said.

When he didn’t move to grab her, she relaxed a little, her breath evening out once again. Caden could feel her confidence slowly building. Maybe he really just wants to play a game

“Aren’t you tired?”

The boy’s shoulders and head dropped. “So you don’t want to play,” he confirmed dejectedly. She watched as he turned around on the empty bed, to face the other wall.

Caden’s little sister Reese always used guilt to get what she wanted. She hadn’t known a guy her own age could make her feel just as guilty, if not worse. “No, no, I want to play. I do.” As long as you stay on that side of the room. Caden moved farther into the room but stayed a good six feet away.

“What game? What game?” He bounced on the bed in his sitting position.

“Do you have any cards?” She clutched the blanket tighter around her, but tried to keep her voice light and casual.

“Cards?” The boy, who no longer seemed like Gabriel at all, stuck out his tongue. “Dumb. Something else.”
Author Bio: 
The hunger is encompassing, so she feeds the beast books. But the hunger never settles… so she writes. E.V. Fairfall has an itch that drives her to the world of story telling. With several published short stories, and soon several books (fingers crossed), she explores the topics of humanity and hardship. 
During the daylight hours, a book is always within reach. She spends her nights reading with her husband, surrounded by towers of tomes and three furry children curled in close. If she isn’t reading, she is browsing bookstores or hiking, but always awaiting her next adventure.

GIVEAWAY!

Hosted by:

XBTBanner1

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

COVER REVEAL WITH GIVEAWAY: Gilt: By Invitation Only by Geneva Lee



Gilt: By Invitation Only

Geneva Lee

(Gilt Series, #1)

Publication date: May 31st 2016

Genres: YA Contemporary
In a world with too much money and not enough rules, anything goes. Welcome to Belle Mère, the most exclusive zip code outside the Las Vegas Strip. It’s every sinner’s fantasy and every good parent’s worst nightmare. 
Emma Southerly doesn’t belong at Belle Mère Prep despite her new stepfather’s money. Not after she shunned her invite to the popular table, and especially not after what happened last summer. So when her best friend begs her to crash an invite-only, end of the year party, she should say no with a capitol H-E-L-L. 
It’s just a party. What could go wrong?
Getting kicked out to start. Running into the man who destroyed your family. 
Everything. 
Until she meets Jamie, who’s also hiding from the in-crowd. After spending the night with the cute stranger, Emma barely makes it home before news hits Belle Mère’s brunch tables. A body’s been found on the West estate, and Jamie is the number one suspect. But he couldn’t have done it…right? 
Emma isn’t sure she can trust him or the rest of Belle Mère. After all, no one is safe when everyone is a liar.

Sign up for Geneva’s newsletter for a chance to win 1 of 50 advance copies of Gilt before release! Sign me up!
Winning subscribers will be notified by May 25, 2016.

Author Bio:
Geneva Lee is the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling author of The Royals Saga. When she isn't writing, you'll find her traveling, buying unnecessary shoes, or drinking champagne. Her debut novel Crewel, written as Gennifer Albin, was a YALSA Teens Top 10 read and a BEA buzz pick. She lives in Kansas City with her family. 




GIVEAWAY: 

Saturday, April 23, 2016

BOOK REVIEW: Mandrake's Plot by Helen Laycock


BLURB:


Evie and Mia meet on a train on their way to St. Agatha's Boarding School for Young Ladies. Dropped at a deserted station, with no one to meet them, they trek through the pelting rain and darkness for miles until they find a sign to St. Agatha's which points to an unlikely overgrown track leading up a mountain path. 

A foreboding place, St. Agatha's School is surrounded by a sea of mist, and overlooks a loch. Coming face to face with the grotesque caretaker, Mandrake, is not the only thing to unsettle them. 

What is the significance of the strange rings worn by Miss Blackthorn, the head teacher - and why does everyone behave so oddly? 

The girls stumble across a forgotten burial chamber. Inside, lies the crumbling skeleton of Sister Beatrice, clutching a note which tells of a curse. Locked in the chamber as a punishment, the friends discover an old book within which is the antidote to the curse... but it is hidden in code. 


REVIEW BY: Angel, age 13 years, 5 months

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

This book was a great adventure with some twists and turns! It was an easy read with a fast-paced plot. 

This book is about two girls named Evie and Mia, they were both sent to St. Agatha's (its a school for girls), but when they got there, they started to see strange things going on to the girls and staff. Everyone is so mean and rude. One teacher wanted everything to be symmetrical and another teacher talked in rhythm. All of the worst part of every student's personality came through. One day Mia and Evie came across a key that led somewhere in their room. Soon they found a curse in the chamber on the vegetables that they eat. Evie and Mia knew they had to break the curse somehow! 

My favorite character is Mandrake because he doesn't talk, but is super sweet and does the right thing. 

My favorite part is when Mandrake drives the car because it is hilarious. 

I don't think there is anything I would fix in this book, it's short and exciting and I love it! 

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 10 and up. 

Friday, April 22, 2016

BOOK REVIEW: Slumber (The Slumber Duology, #1) by Christy Sloat


BLURB:


Not all princesses get their happily ever after...

They tell me I killed my boyfriend Phillip in cold blood. I stabbed him twenty one times. I’m only seventeen years old, and I am serving life in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane.

I don’t remember killing him, so it’s really hard to believe I’m capable of murder. In fact I don’t remember anything before I came to Spindle Ridge, not even my boyfriend.

I can only grasp onto my realistic dreams while the madness of the asylum threatens to pull me under. I dream I’m a beautiful princess and there is an evil faerie named Maleficent who is bent on my destruction. The dreams are the closest thing I have to memories of my life, except they aren’t real.

I’m crazy. I’m not a princess. 

They’re the mad illusions of an irrational teenage girl, right?

They’ve assigned me a new doctor, and she says I can trust her, and that she’ll help me see the truth of who I really am. 

When she arrived she brought a new patient, Sawyer, who is everything Spindle Ridge isn’t: exciting, mysterious and beautiful. He promises he’s here to rescue me. Trusting either of them frightens me.

Could it be possible that my dreams are more than just the imaginings of a delusional girl? Could they be truth?


REVIEW BY: Angel, age 13 years, 5 months

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

This book was absolutely fascinating! The author truly caught the tale of Sleeping Beauty. There is tons of adventure and beauty in this story. I loved this book! 

This book is about Princess Aurora. Maleficent is keeping her in an asylum until she can kill her. However, Princess Aurora doesn't know who she is, all she knows is that she is a murderer named Rory that doesn't deserve to live any longer. Rory soon gets curious and some nurses and doctors say weird things about who she is and they say that they are all on her side. Things are getting brighter and clearer for Rory, all she needs to do is remember and fight! 

My favorite character is Gray because she is kind, loyal and very protective over Rory, but is cautious to show it. 

My favorite part is when Rory has flashbacks because I love how the author incorporates the original story of Sleeping Beauty. 

This book was finely written with a great pace! It had just enough descriptive words that don't bore you to death and I think overall, it was a lovely read! 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 13 and up. 

BOOK REVIEW: The Infamous Ratsos by Kara LaReau & Illustrated by Matt Myers


BLURB:


Louie and Ralphie Ratso are no softies! Readers are sure to chuckle as the determined Ratso brothers’ plans to act tough go hilariously awry.

Louie and Ralphie Ratso’s dad, Big Lou, always says that there are two kinds of people: those who are tough and those who are soft. Louie and Ralphie are tough, tough, tough, just like Big Lou, and they’re going to prove it. But every time they try to show just how tough they are, the Ratso brothers end up accidentally doing good deeds instead. What’ll Big Lou do when he finds out they’ve been acting like softies all over the Big City? Perfect for emerging and reluctant readers, this clever and surprisingly warmhearted chapter book shows that being tough all the time can be really tough.


REVIEW BY: Angelina, age 9 years, 6 months

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

This book was fantastic! I laughed so much and had a great time reading it!

It is about rats that are trying to be tough! They give a sandwich to a girl that is nasty and she loved it. They put soap on a window and the lady liked them and called them helpful. 

My favorite character is Louie because he is cool. 

My favorite part is when they put soap on the window because it was funny and they weren't expecting the reaction they got! 

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 8 to 11. 

**This book's publishing date is August 2, 2016. 

GIVEAWAY: 4 Autographed Copies of Adaline by Denise Kawaii