Tuesday, June 7, 2016

GUEST POST: Kari Anders - Designing your Own Book Cover

Designing Your Own Book Cover: Elements of a Cover that Sells


As an indie author, you’ve probably read about the differences between traditional publishing, self-publishing, and hybrid publishing. Some of you may have chosen to self-publish for the advantages it brings over traditional publishing: higher royalties, creative control, faster time to market, global rights retention, and more. Or you may have chosen to self-publish after rounds of unsuccessful queries. Either way, all indie authors need to understand the Elements of a Cover that Sells before finalizing their design and clicking that sweet button on Amazon that allows you to say, I am an author.

I’ve often heard traditionally published authors complain they have little to no say in cover photography or design. Authors begin to imagine what their cover looks like as they are writing their story. They feel they know their story best and therefore have the knowledge needed to design a great cover. Unfortunately, they link those two thoughts incorrectly. Knowing a story well is usually a fault when it comes to creating a cover, which is why traditional publishing houses usually keep authors far away from cover design.

Why? This is a problem best described through the clichĂ©: it’s hard to see the forest through the trees. When authors are asked what their book is about, they often have a hard time answering. Their book is about so many things. They try to describe the main storyline, the subplots, the theme, the lesson, the story arc, the relationships between the characters, the character’s backstory, how the family got their dog, why they moved to San Francisco, all without giving away the ending. Has a friend ever asked you what your book is about? How hard was it to simplify your work into just a sentence or two?

Most authors are sentimental about their book, and rightfully so. They want the cover to do it justice. But they forget that the cover is packaging. It is intended to sell the product. It's not intended to be the product. So, what sells a book? Does the cover need to intrigue readers? Does it need to have colors that pop against a white background? Does the text need to have high contrast? Maybe these are concerns if you are Stephen King or Nora Roberts. But if you are reading this, you are likely not already a New York Times Best Seller, and therefore, these details are secondary. You are trying to get your book read by readers looking through hundreds of thousands of titles in a similar price range in a world where a new book is published on Amazon every five minutes. The truth is, your cover needs to do one thing: give your story away.

The market landscape in books has been changing for a while now. Readers are left to choose from such a wide variety of books, and they usually spend just seconds on a cover or description to determine if they are going to buy it. This doesn't mean you need to be intriguing or stand out from the crowd. It means quite the opposite. Creating mystery around your book by using a unique cover confuses readers; they don't know what you are trying to communicate. Instead of being intrigued and ready to know more, they are ready to move on.

Catching readers’ attention starts with a good description. You want to set the scene very quickly and give as much away as you can while asking as few questions as possible. If your book asks five new questions every time it answers one, this keeps the reader turning pages! If you cover or description does that, it turns your potential readers off.

When you go to write your description, think about the Who, What, When, Where and Why. Who is the narrator? What is the biggest event that happens in the story? Is your book set in WWII? You readers need to know this. These are only some of the questions you need to ask yourself to write a good blurb. You don't need to tell the entire story to catch a reader's attention, but you need to make sure you lay out a clear introduction. You also need to make sure you give a few things away: is your book a love story, does it contain magic or is it considered sci-fi? Does your main character experience abuse, trauma or loss? Not everyone wants to read a book about murder or fairies. And that is okay; your audience is not everyone.

I was talking to a newbie author who was publishing her first book, a memoir about being raped at the hands of her ex-boyfriend. She didn’t want her description to give away that it was a book about rape, with the fear that this would turn off readers. She was convinced that if they were drawn into her book from the beginning, they would be so intrigued by her story, the content of the book would no longer matter. This is a common thread among new authors who were not traditionally readers of that genre before they began writing. Remember this if you remember nothing else: Readers are finicky. If you trick them into reading your book, they will remember and not in a positive way. It creates a breeding ground for poor reviews. Make sure they know what they are getting themselves into. Trust that there is an audience for your book. A broad description doesn't reach a wider audience; instead, it stops you from finding yours.

So how do you write a good description? I can usually tell by the first few chapters what the book’s description should say. By then, I’m developing ideas about the cover image and the mood of the cover. Let me give you an example of a bad blurb versus a good one.

Bad Description: Meet Jenna Lucas, a young twenty-something fashion designer who seems to have life figured out. One day, a letter from a lawyer reveals an inheritance that Jenna wasn't expecting. In a leap of faith, Jenna goes on an adventure of a lifetime in a last ditch effort to find out what this inheritance is really about. During the trip, she meets Pete, a quirky old man that won't leave Jenna alone. Is he as crazy as everyone makes him out to be, or is he the key to uncovering the secret about Jenna's family that's been hiding for so long?


If you read the first description and look at the cover, it's hard to paint a picture. You are given information that may or may not be relevant, and every sentence brings up a question without answering any. It's not the specifics of the cover that are the concern, but the title, cover, and description do not work together to sell potential readers anything.

Good Description: Jenna Lucas was never really close with her aunt, Lauri. The day of her mom’s funeral was the last time Lauri came to visit; effectively separating herself from anything that reminded her of her sister. But when Lauri passes away, Jenna inherits a ticket on the Royal Maritime, a ship that circles the Arctic in an exuberate display of the Northern Lights that only shows itself once every nine years. But the trip was planned for Lauri, and during the cruise everybody Jenna meets was expecting someone else. Join Jenna on the trip of a lifetime, a last chance at knowing her aunt, and discovering the real reason why she left so many years ago.



In the second description, we are given where the story takes place, what is happening during the book, the reason behind the story, and the important characters. It sets the reader up for really knowing what they are getting into, and in turn pulls them into the story. There is a little bit of mystery to the end, essentially offering up stakes for the reader (if you don't read this book, you'll never find out why Jenna's aunt left!). And you can even picture Jenna on the cruise, hearing stories from the different passengers, and piecing together information about her family. But most importantly, the cover, description and title all work together to paint this single picture.

Here is a good test: If you read the cover of a book and you can’t describe it in once sentence, you are in trouble. How would I describe the second book? A woman inherits a ticket on a cruise ship, meets some interesting people and finds out more about her family along the way. I wouldn’t even know where to begin on the first one.

If you are designing your cover yourself, have a friend read the first three chapters and then tell you what they think your book about. Use this information to write a strong, descriptive blurb that really paints a picture of the story, and use that picture to create a cover. From there, your title should pop out. These three pieces should work together to sell your potential readers a single story. If you are hiring a book cover artist, make sure you write your description first and let the artist work to create a cover that fits.

BIO:

Kari Anders is a book cover designer who works mostly with self-published authors and small publishing houses. She worked in freelance design for six years before attending graduate school, and now teaches design and runs freeebookcovers.com. All of Kari's covers are designed as CreateSpace Wraps for only $75, with the eBook version included for free. Her site specializes in Pre-Made Book Covers, but she also does interior design and custom covers.

COVER REVEAL: Shaman's Curse (Vampire's Bane #2) by Suzannah Daniels



Shaman’s Curse 
Suzannah Daniels
(Vampire’s Bane #2)
Publication date: June 2016
Genres: Dystopian, Paranormal, Young Adult

Maylin Kavanagh is on a mission.
After escaping the Warwick Vampires, she’s sworn that the only thing that can stand between her and reaching St. Louis for the next phase of The Program is death itself. 
Determined to discover her purpose, her allegiance is with the human race. But the humans aren’t the only ones who want her. 
Creed’s people claim that she’s the key to their prophecy and the cure for their curse. So why did he try to kill her? 
And if that weren’t enough to ponder, she fears the vampires will hunt her—not for her blood, but for revenge. 
As Maylin tries to find her place in a world filled with the supernatural, she realizes it’s not always easy to recognize the lies from the truth, the friends from the enemies. And maybe the hardest thing of all is being able to reconcile her head with her heart.
But it’s a fight for survival, and Maylin intends to win.
SHAMAN'S CURSE SUZANNAH DANIELS FULL JACKET FOR SHARING
Sequel to:
23499821


Author Bio:
Suzannah Daniels has had an affinity for words for as long as she can remember. She grew up in North Georgia with four brothers, so she learned at an early age to admire snakes and motorcycles. When she wasn't pestering her brothers, she could usually be found reading or writing. 
She is the author of the Whiskey Nights series (new adult contemporary romance), the Dangerous Trilogy (young adult contemporary romance), Vampire's Bane (young adult paranormal), Ghostly Encounter (young adult paranormal romance), and Viking's Embrace (historical romance). 
Currently, she lives in Chattanooga, Tennessee with her husband of twenty-nine years. Her children live nearby. The family pets include a Lab mix named Achilles, a Basset Hound named Annabelle, and a Shih Tzu named MooMoo. 
Visit her website at www.SuzannahDaniels.com. 

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Monday, June 6, 2016

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT: Stacy Davidowitz

 Stacy Davidowitz is the amazing author of the Camp Rolling Hills series. 


INTERVIEW CONDUCTED BY:
Michaela

Why did you write about summer camp?

BECAUSE I LOVE IT. Anyone who knows me knows that I tend to write a lot about sleepaway camp. It’s been a major part of my life since I was ten. Also, my family is in the camping industry. My mom runs a day camp in Long Island, my brother is the Assistant Director of the camp we grew up at, and my sister-in-law runs girls’ side there, too. Plus, this series has given me the opportunity to write about kids living together, growing together, and learning together away from their parents. How special is that? Camp is a place where friendships blossom, self-confidence is fostered, and the high jinx is endless. The real question is: Why wouldn’t I write about camp?

Did you go to camp when you were younger?

Yup! I grew up at a camp in Pennsylvania called Tyler Hill. I went there as a camper, and then stayed to be a Junior Counselor, Counselor, and Head Staff! I still technically work at summer camps...

Who is your favorite camper in your book(s)?

Melman. She’s brave, athletic, funny, and a really great friend. In the second book of the Camp Rolling Hills series, she really shines! I also love Sophie’s weirdness. Writing such a wild card oddball is super fun. 

Is there going to be a whole series? If so, how many books? I would love to review them all for you!

There IS going to be a whole series. The first two books of the series, Camp Rolling Hills and Camp Rolling Hills: Crossing Over launch together on May 10, 2016. The third book, titled Breakout!, is all about Color War (a weeklong, amazing campwide competition) and will be released in April 2017. The fourth book will be released in April 2018. After that, there might be two more. There are twelve kids total, and the idea is that each book is told from the point of view of one girl camper and one boy camper. So the first book is told from the perspectives of Slimey and Smelly. The second book is Melman and Steinberg. The third book is Jenny and Play Dough. The fourth book is Missi and Wiener. And if there are two more books, the fifth will be Jamie and Dover and the sixth will be Sophie and Totle. The campers grow from 12-years-old to 14-years-old as the series progresses. And yes, I would LOVE reviews for each book! That would be amazing!

What is your favorite camp activity?

Color War, for sure. That’s the weeklong, amazing campwide competition I mentioned earlier. The whole camp is divided into two teams that compete in everything from sports to trivia to apache relays to rope burn to singing to dancing to scavenger hunts!

If you could become any character in your book(s) who would it be? Why?

Slimey. She’s sweet, artsy, sensitive, optimistic, and has an undying love for camp. Maybe Play Dough for a bit, too. He’s adored by his friends and gets to eat snacks he hides in his socks.  

Who is your all time favorite author? Book?

All time favorite author...hmm...that’s super hard. I love Tim Federle. And Dr. Seuss. And John Green. And I truly love the book Wonder by R.J. Palacio. I read A LOT of plays, probably more than books actually, since I’m also a playwright. So if you have any top recommendations for middle grade or YA books, let me know, and I’ll recommend you some plays:)

Advice for young writers?

Let your imagination ride the train to where miracles happen. Allow your characters to be your best friends. Have them join the circus. Be patient. And kind to yourself. Let your friends in on what you’re writing. Be bolder than bold. Learn to love revising. Treat yourself to good snacks while doing all of the above. If you’re ever stuck, email me, and I’ll send you a very random prompt.  

Any other interesting facts/info you would like to share about yourself and/or your book?

Sure! Did you know that Camp Rolling Hills was originally a musical?! That’s right. Camp Rolling Hills is a musical with music and lyrics by Adam Spiegel and book and lyrics by David Spiegel and me. You can listen to the music and check out some recent production photos on the Camp Rolling Hills website. We premiered in March in San Diego and have an upcoming production in June in Connecticut! www.camprollinghills.com

Thank you so much Ms. Davidowitz for allowing me to read your books and interview you! I can't wait to read the next books in the series.

You can find more information about Stacy Davidowitz at her website.

BOOK REVIEW: Loretta by Adam Whitaker


BLURB:

In all his young life, Peter has never met a man like Loretta. The man says that he’s from the ancient lost city of Atlantis – a land of wonders and technology that surpasses even our own, lost to humanity and swallowed by the ocean at the end of the Robot Wars. Loretta claims not to be a man. Not exactly. He and his falcon companion, Finian Falco, are better described in today’s terms as androids, and they were awakened from their eon of slumber to save Peter’s town. Peter’s family says he’s only a kind man with wild ideas…and a falcon. Loretta doesn’t need them to believe. Danger is rocketing toward Earth. The professor is about to find him. Society has become barbaric while he slept. Peter needs a friend. And…Loretta is running out of time.

REVIEW BY: Arianna, age 13 years, 6 months

MAY CONTAIN SPOILER:

I really liked the plot of this book! However, I found some parts confusing or they didn't flow with the rest of the story. 

My favorite character is Loretta purely because of how comedic yet heartfelt he was portrayed. 

I loved how adventurous all the characters are. You never know what is going to happen next! I think this book really shows the meaning of family and friendship. 

My favorite part is the very beginning scene when Charles is talking to his wife about their daughter wearing a bikini. I love the line when he says "I'm just wondering why we couldn't afford an entire bathing suit!" He then goes on to say he has been working overtime and his wife just got a raise. He then points out that it seems that they could afford an entire bathing suit. I just burst out laughing because that sounds like something my dad would say! 

I recommend this book to those that enjoy humor, adventure and stories of friendship. 

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars and recommend it for ages 12 and up. 

Sunday, June 5, 2016

BOOK BLITZ, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY: Tempting Death (The Grim Trilogy #1) by Elizabeth Holloway



Tempting Death 
Elizabeth Holloway
(The Grim Trilogy #1)
Publication date: May 30th 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult

The truck should have turned Libbi Piper into a Libbi pancake, but a mysterious boy named Aaron saved her life. The problem? Aaron’s the local Grim Reaper. The bigger problem? He saved Libbi’s life so she can take over his job. 
Libbi has just days to choose between dying like she was supposed to or living a lonely life as Death Incarnate. The choice only gets harder when she learns Aaron’s reasons for wanting out of the whole morbid business. Basically, his job sucks. 
Still, when Aaron looks at her, there’s something more in his eyes. Something dark and secret. Something he’s hiding. Libbi will be damned if she’ll die without figuring it out. And she’ll be damned if she lets him go.

EXCERPT:

The creep is back.

I may not be able to see him, but I know he’s here, somewhere. Call it intuition. Or maybe it’s just the eerie memory of when the guy stared me down last night. I don’t know, but I’m not taking any chances.


I hunch over my history final and release my thick hair from behind my ears. It swings forward like a dark-brown curtain and hides my face.

Show’s over, buddy.


I can’t look around, not with Mr. Winkler on “cheater duty.” Hopefully, the guy will get bored and go wherever the hell he went last night when he took off.

The final is what’s important. I need to focus on this test.

I read the next question on the page, but the loser’s gaze bores through my dark shield of hair and my arms erupt in gooseflesh. Before I can skim the multiple choice answers, my eyes betray me and shoot up to scan the classroom.

Mr. Winkler sits at his desk scratching at some poor schlub’s paper with his red pen of doom. His bald head gleams in the harsh fluorescent light. God, I hope it’s not my paper he’s destroying. I can’t afford another bad grade in this class.

I quickly scan the rest of the classroom through the part in my hair, but everyone is working. Eerie feeling or not, nobody’s looking at me.

But I know someone is watching. Just like last night, I can feel his stalker stare.

This is ridiculous. I shake my head and rub my arms to dispel the goose bumps. This guy has freaked me out so much I’m imagining his eyes on me now. I don’t have time for this. I have an exam to finish.

The tip of my pencil hovers over the letter C, and something in my peripheral vision shifts. I snap my head up and finally see him.

The guy I caught staring at me at the art show last night, the guy who warned me something bad was going to happen to me today, stands at the tiny rectangular window in the door. He tilts his head and his ice-blue eyes lock on mine, sending a shiver through my body.

Shake it off, Libbi, I tell myself. He’s just a crazy boy with a crush.

Actually, with his tousled black hair and his nose pressed against the glass like that, he looks a little like a lost puppy. If he wasn’t so creepy, I’d almost feel sorry for him. But couldn’t he choose a better time than the middle of my history final to eyeball me? Plus, he said he wanted to talk to me alone, and this is most certainly not alone.

I point to my partially finished test and mouth, “Final exam.”

He nods. A half-smile lifts the corners of his lips.

“Bye.” I wave my hand.

“I need to talk to you,” he mouths.

“No,” I reply, but he continues to stand at the door.

Dude, catch a clue already. I spin away from the door, sneak a peek at Mr. Winkler, and shove the eraser of my pencil between my teeth. I yank the eraser out of its metal holder and flick it at the back of Haley’s head. Her chair squeaks as she jumps and whips around to glare at me.

“What?” she whispers.

“Look.” I point over my shoulder with my pencil to the classroom door. “That crazy guy I told you about is at the window.”

We turn to the door together, but the window’s empty. He must be a shy creeper.

“Where?” Haley says.

“Never mind. He’s gone.” I slump back in my chair. At least I can finish my test in peace.


Author Bio: 
Elizabeth Holloway is a writer of young adult fiction living in Southern Pennsylvania with her two teen children and their growing number of pets. 
In addition to writing, she is a registered nurse, an avid reader, an out-of-practice artist, a karaoke singer, and a music lover. She is still trying to decide what she wants to be when she grows up. 

GIVEAWAY!

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Thursday, June 2, 2016

BOOK BLITZ, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY: Terrapin (Nordic Airre, #1) by A.C. Troyer



Terrapin
A.C. Troyer
(Nordic Airre, #1)
Publication date: May 30th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Eighteen-year-old Charlotte (Jinx), fights her past to chase her dream of becoming an Elite Nordic Airre pilot, yet her rebellious attitude hinders her hard-earned lead status. Overcoming a string of life-altering events and the unwanted advances of Ghost Allen, a smooth talking pilot, is one thing, evading death at the hands of two comrades is another. 
When Jinx comes face-to-face with an unlikely ally, she is forced to trust him in order to escape the clutches of those who want to silence her. Can a once broken girl transform her past into an iron will, or will she ultimately crumble under the destruction?

EXCERPT:

“Hold still,” he said.

I froze. My thoughts instantly drew a large coiling snake at my feet, but then a gentle wipe of his thumb swept across my cheek. I jerked away in response. “What are you doing?” I covered his path with my hand, as if the man-germs burned me.

“Hold still. You made it worse. And don’t look at me like I’m your favorite dessert, it’s not helping the situation any.”

There was a tease in his tone. “What situation?” I asked. “And I’m not. Trust me.” I displayed the most repulsed expression I could. The hem of his shirt pulled up over his crossed arms and cleared his head. “Whoa.” My palms few up. “You’re reading the signs all wrong. Put your shirt back on,” I pleaded to him. My eyes widened, soaking up the definition of his stomach. Holy abs.

“You like what you see?” He laughed, waggling his eyebrows.

I gained my composure and mocked a laugh. “I was just thinking you’re almost as toned as I am. Close, but not quite there yet, big guy,” I said, patting his stomach.

His closed lipped dimpled smile awakened something inside of me. The same smile I saw the morning on Senders Rock, the one that sent tingles through my body. I wanted to pull my eyes away. But he was beautiful.


Author Bio:
A.C. grew up climbing trees and spying on her siblings. When not writing, A.C. can be found cheering on her favorite girls at a softball field or sitting in her car reading at practices and eating her hidden stash of chocolate. She enjoys family time, traveling, random road trips, watching movies, decorating, and trying new cocktails. She lives in the mitten state with her husband, two daughters, and their furbabies. Terrapin is her first novel.

GIVEAWAY!

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

BOOK BLITZ, EXCERPT & GIVEAWAY: Smoke and Mirrors (Blackhollow Academy #1) by Jess Haines



Smoke and Mirrors 
Jess Haines
(Blackhollow Academy #1)
Publication date: May 1st 2016 
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

A girl who uses her illusions to fool the world into thinking she’s just like all the other magi.
A dragon who sees through her lies. 
Together they just might survive a world that wants to control or destroy them both. 
Kimberly may wield ultimate cosmic power, but even a mage has to pay the rent. No one will hire her for her magic talents until she’s got the credentials, so she’s stuck in a crappy rent controlled apartment with her mother, yearning for treats she can’t afford at her part time job in a cafĂ©, counting down the days until she graduates the secret Blackhollow Academy school for magi. Only then will she have the certificate she needs to land her dream job in a coven. 
The problem? She needs a familiar to graduate. 
As an illusionist, she doesn’t have the ability to summon or create a familiar of her own. Her only option is to convince a supernatural creature to let her bind it instead. Since having a powerful Other at her beck and call would guarantee her a place in a coven after she graduates—and legendary treasure hoards are an added bonus—she thinks binding a dragon as her familiar will solve all her problems… 
Because sometimes a girl needs a dragon, not a knight.

EXCERPT:

Viper made a soft hissing sound of irritation between his teeth, pulling back from her. “Cormac has no vision. I know what I want and I’m prepared to offer anything to get it. You have but to ask.”

Well. There was one thing. Her cheeks flared crimson and she squirmed a bit before stuttering out another question, swallowing back her embarrassment.

“You keep a hoard like a dragon, right? I don’t suppose you would consider loaning me a little? I swear I’d pay it back.”

His head tipped to one side, and he looked her up and down anew. She suspected he was just noticing her frayed cuffs and cheap shoes. He’d been so intent on getting whatever it was he wanted out of her that he hadn’t paid attention to the package it came in until now. When she caught the very slight curl of his lip, there and gone in a flash, embarrassed heat filled her cheeks.

Feeling both dirty and humiliated, she ducked her head. “Never mind. I shouldn’t have asked. I’m sorry, I don’t think I can do this.”

“Come now, I’m sure it’s not that hard. All it takes is a yes.”

“No,” she said, this time with a bit more vehemence. Cormac was right. There was something off about Viper, and never mind what a perfect ass she’d just made of herself. Worst of all, that flash of disgust showed he obviously had no respect for her. At least Cormac never made her feel tolerated. “Thank you for the offer, but I’ll find some other way of getting what I need.”

He slowly rose to stand, heaving a sigh as he settled back on his heels.

“That’s unfortunate. This would have been much easier if you had agreed.”

Kimberly would have asked what he meant by that, but the look in his eyes froze her in place.

His eyes burned a molten gold as he spread his arms, which were expanding and shifting at an alarming rate. Faster than she might have thought possible, he was growing, his clothing melting and skin disappearing under a layer of metallic scales. Nearby, people were noticing, shouting and screaming in fear as they stampeded in every direction to escape the shapechanging Other in their midst.

When he ceased growing, from the tip of his nose to the end of his tail, he was over thirty feet long, with a wingspan half again that size.

Kimberly sat immobile, unable to so much as squeak in terror as the beast before her lurched back to arch its neck and spread its wings, barbed tail lashing as it growled at her. One thick, talon-tipped paw lashed out, flattening her on the grass and squeezing the air out of her lungs. It gave an awkward, one-legged hop forward to catch its balance before clenching its claws to dig deep furrows in the grass and close around her waist and legs, pinning her.

Then those wide, ribbed wings began to flap, the sun playing off the tones of brass and copper and gold. The ground fell away, people scattering before the airborne monster.

And Kimberly could do nothing but pray, staring up at this great beast that had her in its claws.

She’d gotten what she’d asked for. Now she would have to pay the price.


Author Bio: 
I'm a displaced New Yorker with a penchant for the silly, the obscure, and the fantastical. Tampa, Florida is home for the time being. I'm currently working on the H&W Investigations urban fantasy series and the Blackhollow Academy young adult contemporary fantasy series. Find out more about my books, drop me a line, or join my mailing list at www.jesshaines.com! 

GIVEAWAY!

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

COVER REVEAL WITH GIVEAWAY: Darkness Savage (The Dark Cycle #3) by Rachel A. Marks


Darkness Savage
Rachel A. Marks
(The Dark Cycle #3)
Published by: Skyscape
Publication date: October 13th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
The forces of Darkness have only gotten stronger as Aidan struggles to control his newly awakened abilities that seem to be his only hope for fixing the mess he made by waking up his little sister, Ava, who seems to think it’s all a game as she taunts him and begins a torturous game of cat and mouse. And while Rebecca isn’t sure where she fits in the fight, one thing she does know is that something has gone very wrong inside her. And uncovering what it is could upend any hope Aidan has to save the lives of everyone he’s grown to love. 
Everything he’s built, everything he’s fought for until now, hangs in the balance—as well as the fate of the world. Now Aidan and the Lights he’s brought together must take their true place to fight the forces rising from the shadows at a startling rate, forces trying to tear them apart. But when Aidan can’t save the one thing he needs the most, he begins to wonder if he’ll have anything true left to hold on to in the end.
Previous books in the series:
25010747 25690185


Author Bio:
Rachel A. Marks is an award-winning author and professional artist, a SoCal girl, cancer survivor, a surfer and dirt-bike rider, chocolate lover and keeper of faerie secrets. She was voted: Most Likely to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse, but hopes she'll never have to test the theory. Her debut series The Dark Cycle, described as Dickens' Oliver Twist meets TV's Supernatural, is now out through Skyscape, beginning with DARKNESS BRUTAL.


GIVEAWAY: